Your community matters

Municipal filing period starts today at noon

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


OXFORD Even though the municipal elections are months away, would-be candidates are already vying for votes with campaign rhetoric as today’s filing period begins.

Those considering running for office must go to the Granville County Board of Elections office located at 208 Wall St. in Oxford and complete the necessary paperwork and pay the filing fee.

The Granville Board of Elections is open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. today and will not close for lunch. The filing period will remain open until noon on July 19.

Bring a check to pay the filing fee. Anyone with questions about filing can contact the Granville County Board of Elections office at 919-693-2515. The Butner-Creedmoor News will publish a list of all candidates upon completion of the filing period.

The races with seats up for election this year are:


Seats open: Mayor and three commissioner seats

Incumbents: Mayor Bobby Wheeler and commissioners Ernie Anderson, Archer Wilkins and Herman Wilkerson.

Filing fee: $10


Seats open: Mayor and three commissioner seats

Incumbents: Mayor Terry Turner and commissioners Bill Birdsong, William (Bill) McKellar Jr. and Vickie Smoak.

Filing fee: $10


Seats open: Mayor and four commissioners seats (two unexpired terms)

Incumbents: Mayor Paul “Casey” Dover, commissioners Kevin Easter and Kenneth McLamb. Two seats have two-year unexpired terms (Jim Dooris resigned this year and the seat was not filled. David Pavlus filled the seat vacated by Jason Varner). Both seats have two years left on the term.

Filing fee: $5


Seats open: Mayor and three commissioners

Incumbents: Mayor Jackie Sergent. Commissioners Ron Bullock, Al Woodlief and Frank Strickland.

Filing fee: $10


Seats open: Three commissioners

Incumbents: Commissioners Francis A. Keeton, Michael S. Williford and Ricky Sneed Sr.

Filing fee: $5